Author of the Year Award

Each year SDCTE honors an author who has South Dakota ties. Nominees should have one or more pieces of commercially published work that has an impact on the state of South Dakota or is relevant to education.

Click below to nominate an Author of the Year.

2024 Achut Deng

2023 Layli Long Soldier

2022 Helen Frost

2020 VJ Smith

2019 Lee Ann Roripaugh

2018 Christine Stewart–Nuñez

2017 Sarah J. Pepper

2016 Patrick Hicks

2014 Dr. John Miller

2013 Marilyn Kratz

2012 Dr. Charles Woodard

2011 Mark St. Pierre

2010 Kevin Woster

2009 Kristie Thielen

2008 Brian Bedard

2007 Jean Patrick

2006 Joseph Marshall III

2005 Bernie Hunhoff

2004 David Allan Evans

2003 Elizabeth Cook-Lynn

2001 Dan O’Brien

2000 Paul Higbee

1999 Virginia Driving Hawk Sneve

1998 Kent Meyers

1997 Linda Hasselstrom

1996 Kathleen Norris