Teacher of the Year Award

SDCTE is committed to honoring outstanding teachers in our state. Those receiving this award should have demonstrated leadership in the classroom and among their peers. Nominees should also be active members of SDCTE.

Click below to nominate a teacher for Teacher of the Year.

2024 Adam Rudebusch

Castlewood High School

2023 Laura O’Connor

Philip High School

2022 Sharon Prendergast

Sisseton High School

2019 Meghan Wounded-Head

Washington High School, Sioux Falls

2018 Carla McMurry-Kozak

Vermillion High School

2017 Thomas Moudry

Brookings High School

2016 Samantha Peil

Deubrook High School

2015 Kirsten Rohla

Belle Fourche

2014 Jason Kurtz

Harrisburg High School

2013 Teresa Berndt

Mitchell High School

2012 Sue Morrell

Wagner High School

2011 Jill Mikkelsen

Yankton High School

2010 Anne Moege

Mitchell Middle School

2009 Deana Brodkorb

Todd County

2008 Becky Ekeland

Brookings High School

2007 Dodie Bemis

Lake Area Technical Institute

2006  Karen Harrington

Mitchell Middle School

2005 Carol Varilek

Wagner Community School

2004 Barb Unruh


2003 Connie Krueger

Rapid City

2002 Doris Chmela


2001 Staci Haag

Dakota Valley

1999 Jim Swanson

Dakota State University

1998 Nancy Zuercher

University of South Dakota

1998 Jean Helmer

Belle Fourche High School

1997 Sharon Olbertson

Beresford High School

1996 Donna Fisher

Mitchell High School