Young Leader Award

SDCTE is committed to honoring outstanding teachers in our state by recognizing and fostering leadership both in the classroom and among the profession.

Those receiving the Teacher of the Year Award should have demonstrated leadership in the classroom and among their peers. Nominees should also be active members of SDCTE.

The Young Leader Award recognizes teachers in their first 5 years in the classroom. Nominee should be members of SDCTE (they may be in their first year of membership). Young leaders are provided support to attend a NCTE conference.

Click below to nominate a teacher for the Young Leader Award.

Previous Winners

2023 Janelle Bakke – Sisseton

2021 Maggie Bryant – Brandon Valley

2020 Kama Konda-Varilek – USF

2019 Brittany Aman – Sioux Valley

2018 Susan Farrell-Poncelet Sanborn Central

2017 Kayla Mette – Sioux Valley

2016 Teramie Hill – Vermillion

2015 Alyssa Laufmann – Brookings

2013 – Alisha Limoges – Elk Point – Jefferson

2012 Carrie Oorlog – Chester Area

2011 Sheana Eggers – Yankton

2010 Kirsten Rohla – Belle Fourche

2009 Tara Rollinger – Baltic

2008 Marissa Kleinhans – Baltic

2007 Kara Frei – Wagner

2006 Cassi Pietz – Freeman

2005 Richard Ganci – Brookings

2004 Monique Harty – Harding County

2003 Jessica Ewing

2002 Jennifer Mueller – Rapid City